Professional Development Scholarships & Daycare Grant Opportunities

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Starting in September 2010, the Kansas Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies (KACCRRA) will have professioal development scholarship applications available to child care providers in Kansas who plan to attend an in-state conference. These conferences could include KAEYC, CCPC, BELIEF Institute or other local/regional conferences.

Scholarships will also be available to pay for the Child Development Associate (CDA) National Credential application fee of $325. All professional development scholarships are funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA).

Applications will be available for scholarship funding on the KACCRRA website by September 1, 2010.

*The KACCRRA will be known soon as Child Care Aware of Kansas. Please note the name change in case you want to look into these scholarships.


Grant Funding will also be available soon from KACCRRA. They have 3 types of grants:

1. Children will special needs (max. $5000)
2. Child Care Center (max. $10,000)
3. After-School (max. $5000)

Purpose: Grant funding will soon be available to center and family-based child care providers in Kansas to support increased quality of care for children across Kansas. These grants are funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Grants will be available to Child Care Centers, After-school programs, and programs that care for or plan for children with special needs.

*Licensed by KDHE.
*Been in business for 6 months or more.
*Must have at least one child receiving subsidy (SRS, United Way, Smart Start, etc).
*Must attend a minimum of 18 hours of professional development directly associated with the grant being requested.
*Separate grant applications must be completed to request multiple grant awards.
*Self assessment of program must be completed with grant applications (tool will be provided).
*Funding must be spent no later than July 31, 2011.

Grant applications must be postmarked no later than January 3, 2011.



Post a Comment